The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) develops syllabuses for the key learning areas.

Primary school is split into four stages.

  • Early stage 1 – Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 – Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 – Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 – Years 5 and 6


Each stage has six key learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE) (History and Geography)
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

​Our Special Catholic Culture: Religious Education Curriculum

Explicitly and implicitly, Religious Education forms an integral part of the total curriculum of our schools. It is broader than the classroom teaching of religion, and is directed towards the personal and religious development of our students.

The Religious Education curriculum supports the catechetical and evangelizing mission of the Church while supporting young people in their lifelong journey in faith. It has been developed to stimulate ​and challenge students, especially in their understanding of Scripture and Tradition, their critical thinking and moral reasoning. It is based upon sound pedagogical practices. Central to the curriculum, and its effective teaching, is the To Know, Worship and Love textbook series and resources.

Primary Curriculum

While recognizing that parents are the first educators of their children in faith, the Primary Religious Education Curriculum enables young people to see and respond to God in their lives.

In particular, the 'storytelling approach' of Godly Play and The Catechesis of the Good Shepherd nurtures the natural capacity that young children have for curiosity, imagination and wonder.

Throughout their primary years, children are invited to reflect on Sacred Scripture, talk with God through prayer, discover the beauty of God’s creation and explore the meaning of symbols and rituals.

Above all other things, this is the time when young people come to know how much God loves them, and when they are drawn into a love of God and others.

Please visit the following websites for further information: